Paul Dewar among 13 Canadians banned from Russia

Ottawa Centre MP Paul Dewar is among 13 Canadian lawmakers and officials slapped with an entry ban to Russia.

The bans are a retaliation to Canadian sanctions against Russia for its military occupation of Crimea.

In a statement, Russia's Foreign Ministry said the move is a response to the "unacceptable action by the Canadian side that has inflicted serious damage to bilateral relations."

Dewar is the official opposition critic for Foreign Affairs and has been vocal about not only the situation in Crimea, but Russia's anti-gay laws.

"What Mr. Putin is suggesting is that somehow our being vocal on basic human rights and integrity of sovereign countries is worthy of banning us from travel in Russia, so I wear that ban with pride," Dewar told CFRA.

The ban also includes House of Commons Speaker Andrew Scheer, government House leader Peter Van Loan and several other MPs.

"To be included on this list is a badge of honour for all critics of the Crimea Invasion," said Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird in a statement provided to CFRA. "Canada and its G-7 partners have spoken with one voice in condemning President Putin’s military intervention in Ukraine."

"We remain gravely concerned by the situation in Crimea and we will continue to voice our extreme displeasure with the Russian Federation on a variety of levels," Baird continued. "Instead of responding to the calls of the international community to withdraw their troops, Russia has continued its provocative actions. This is entirely unacceptable."

Baird said Canada would continue collaborating closely with its G-7 partners and other allies.

Canadians banned from Russia:

  • Andrew Scheer, Speaker of the House of Commons
  • Peter Van Loan, government House leader
  • Dean Allison, Conservative MP for Niagara West-Glanbrook
  • Ted Opitz, Conservative MP for Etobicoke Centre
  • James Bezan, Conservative MP for Selkirk-Interlake
  • Irwin Cotler, Liberal MP for Mount Royal
  • Chrystia Freeland, Liberal MP for Toronto Centre
  • Paul Dewar, NDP MP for Ottawa Centre
  • Wayne Wouters, the clerk of the Privy Council
  • Jean-Francois Tremblay, deputy secretary to the cabinet
  • Christine Hogan, assistant secretary to the cabinet
  • Sen. Raynell Andreychuk, independent Liberal senator
  • Paul Grod, national president of the Ukrainian Canadian Congress

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here!