Ottawa Sports Hall of Fame gets five new inductees

Five more portraits are going up in the Ottawa Sports Hall of Fame gallery.

New inductees include four-time Olympic medalist Kristina Groves, three-time Grey Cup champion Wayne Giardino and Team Canada's sledge hockey player Todd Nicholson in the athlete category.

Touch football patriarch Ed Laverty and Ottawa Citizen columnist Tom Casey have also been inducted.

Casey, who spent 39 years with the Citizen, tells CFRA this is a great honour.

"It's really difficult to put into words," he says. "When you're honoured by people in your own community, it's much, much, much more special than anything you could think of."

More than 250 people have been inducted into the Ottawa Sports Hall of Fame since its creation in 1968.

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here!